Follow College Fashion on Twitter!

Sponsored: Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Foundation Review

18 Comments

Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Foundation

I have a confession to make: I’m a bit of a foundation addict. After struggling with acne in my teens, and combination skin and acne scars post-HS, I’ve tried hundreds of foundations in search of the perfect one.

Given my foundation addiction, I was super excited to try Maybelline’s latest offering, the Fit Me Shine-Free Foundation Stick, their “first gel stick foundation with an anti-shine core”. I’m always on the lookout for a good drugstore foundation, and this one seemed ultra-convenient and perfect for my combination skin. Below, I’ll share my review.

My Review of Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Foundation

Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Foundation

To start, I’ve always been a liquid foundation girl so I was hesitant to try a stick foundation – most stick foundations I’ve tried apply too heavily and look cakey fast. This product, however, isn’t your typical stick foundation. It boasts a “gel formula”, which means that it applies smoothly, almost like a silicone primer (think Smashbox Photo Finish). This means it’s easy to apply and blend to a perfect finish.

Maybelline’s Fit Me line is designed to blend perfectly with your skin tone, and I found that claim to be true for the Shine-Free Foundation. My shade, 110 (more on that below), was a perfect match and once I blended the foundation in, it covered all imperfections while looking like I wasn’t wearing makeup. Love!

According to Maybelline, the Shine-Free foundation boasts “ultra-lightweight powders built in to instantly dissolve excess oil”. As a combo-skin girl, I was most excited for this benefit!

After applying this sans-primer over my daily sunscreen, I found that while my skin quickly felt oily (as is usually the case for me with any foundation), it still LOOKED matte for hours. When I used an oil-control primer underneath, that’s when the magic really happened – my skin didn’t get greasy and maintained a natural, soft, matte look all day.

My Shade

Maybelline was kind enough to send me a couple of different shades to try, so I could find my perfect one. I usually wear MAC NW15/Make-up-for-Ever HD in 115, so I received Maybelline sticks in 110, 115, and 120.

I found that 110 Porcelain was the best match for my jawline/overall face, while 120 Classic Ivory was ideal for contouring. Using these two shades together, I got great results.

Your thoughts?

Have you guys tried this foundation yet? Are you excited to? If so, what aspect of the product are you most excited about? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment!

Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Maybelline and product was provided for review. The opinions, as always, are our own. For more information, please see our Disclosure page.

Posted on on October 7, 2013 / Filed Under: Beauty & Hair / Tags: , , , ,

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

18 Responses to “Sponsored: Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Foundation Review”

  1. 1
    October 7th, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Went into it with very high hopes, but as much as I wanted to love it, it was just too oily for my skin – I have combination skin and it just slid right off. A shame too because the formula would have made it perfect for touchups. Glad to hear it works for some people though

  2. 2
    October 7th, 2013 at 10:31 am

    I have oily/combination skin and I love this foundation! I use an oil-free moisturizer underneath. Lasts all day!

  3. 3
    October 7th, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    I absolutely love this foundation! It’s a perfect match to my complexion, it doesn’t make me break out, and it stays pretty much all day. I have rather oily skin, so I’ve been using Benefit’s Porefessional primer before applying the foundation and it works like magic! I would definitely recommend it!

  4. 4
    October 7th, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    110 was quite dark and pink on me, so I didn’t get to give this a proper trial.

  5. 5
    October 7th, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Victoria – Sorry to hear it didn’t work for you! I’ve had the same issue with lots of foundations for combo skin. You should try this with an oil-control primer, though! It made all the difference for me.

    Kuri – Ooh, which moisturizer do you use? Always looking for good oil free ones.

    Asia – Glad you love! I’ve had the same results with Smashbox’s Photo Finish Light primer. Have been dying to try the Porefessional, though!

    Chelsea – Ah, bummer – that happens to me a lot so I feel your pain. 110 in this is definitely more of a 115 in other brands. Hopefully they’ll make a lighter shade someday!

  6. 6
    October 7th, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Just curious, how did you apply it? Did you just rub the stick directly on and then buff out with a brish? or did you use your fingers?
    Been meaning to pick this up to try as well, so this post was a reminder of sorts :)

  7. 7
    October 7th, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Malaika – I like to use my fingers to apply so I made a few swipes with the stick directly on clean skin and used my (clean) fingers to blend it. But I’m sure this would apply well (maybe even better) with a foundation brush or Beauty Blender – it’s very creamy and “melts” from its stick form pretty easily.

  8. 8
    October 7th, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    Zephyr – Just curious: what oil-control primer did you use? I have combination/oily skin and I’m always on the hunt for a good primer!

  9. 9
    October 7th, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    Hannah – Smashbox Photo Finish Light! It’s the best one I’ve tried. I use it over moisturizer on my oily areas only, and always let it dry completely before applying foundation.

  10. 10
    October 7th, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    I’ve seriously never read a sponsored review from college fashion where you didn’t RAVE about the product…

  11. 11
    October 7th, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Katie – Thank you for your feedback, but I’d disagree with that. Although I write in an upbeat tone, I always present my honest review of every product. (In the case of this foundation, I noted that it didn’t work as well for me sans-primer – it’s not meant to be a 5-star rave.) Please see our disclosure page for a full explanation. Also, you aren’t seeing the many sponsored posts I’m turning down because the product isn’t up to our standards. If I don’t think a product is worthy of a mention, I don’t accept their money and we go our separate ways. CF readers (like you!) are my #1 priority, so no one can buy my opinion.

  12. 12
    October 7th, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    Do you think there could be any way that you could write a post about the products that are not worth our time and money? Maybe about which products aren’t worth it and then suggest a product that works better in your experience.

  13. 13
    October 7th, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    @Katie: In Zephyr’s defense, there are hardly EVER any sponsored product reviews on here and that only started about 1-2 years ago. I have been a follower of this blog since before the current layout change when I was an undergrad in 2008. This site absolutely dedicates itself to honest fashion and beauty opinions, and I believe the owner and creator, Zephyr, has done a fabulous job at keeping to these goals. If you go all the way back to the first ever sponsored post regarding some loreal or cheaper brand keratin or straightening treatment (it’s been so long I can barely remember what it was) I believe the review admitted the product could possibly damage hair and may not be the right product for most people in favor of the true more professional treatments at salons.

    @Zephyr: I absolutely agree with comment number 12! It would be a nice new feature to add to the blog to see some rants on products that simply don’t seem to work for people. Especially relating to new products like this one that seem different or innovative, many of them (perhaps unlike this one) really are just good new marketing attempts at women but fail to live up to their name and expected outcomes. It would be nice and helpful to see lists of themed products (i.e. specific haircare this post, some specific type of makeup the next, etc.) that don’t work for most people and/or why to avoid them!

  14. 14
    October 8th, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    I use Neutrogena’s Oil-free Moisturizer for sensitive skin =)

  15. 15
    October 9th, 2013 at 2:41 am

    I can vouch for the Neutrogena Oil-Free for sensitive skin, too. Might consider purchasing this foundation if it works well after moisturizer. :)

  16. 16
    October 9th, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Gwenivere – Good idea – will definitely consider it! In general, we don’t do those types of posts much since we try to keep the blog positive – would rather give promotion to the products that DO work rather than bad publicity to those that don’t. (They say all press is good press.) But if something is super popular and ineffective, you guys should know not to waste your $.

    Heather – Thanks so much for chiming in! <3 It’s nice to know that some readers understand what we’re going for with this site – I absolutely hate blogs where everything is c/o and the opinions are questionable; that’s not something you’ll ever see here!

    Kuri – Thanks for the rec; will check it out! Does that have SPF by any chance?

    Kimberly – Try it – I think you’ll like! If you do have oily areas, though, I recommend a primer for best results.

  17. 17
    October 11th, 2013 at 10:56 am

    I’m so glad you gave this review. I’ve been debating about whether or not to try it and this has given me the push I need :)

  18. 18
    November 14th, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    How did you get Mabelline to send you shades to try out

Leave a Reply

Line

* Comment Rules: CF is a positive place and our comments section is no different. Constructive criticism is fine, but if you're rude, we'll delete your comment. Please use your PERSONAL name or initials and not your business name and do not put your website in the comment text, as both come off like spam. For more info, see our Comment Policy. Have fun & thanks for adding to the conversation!

Line




* Want a custom avatar to show up next to your comments? Sign up for a free Gravatar.